10 Things I’ve Learned from Three Failed Marriages, Part 6: Respect! Respect! Respect!


I don't know who owns this, so if there's a problem, please contact me and we'll discuss it.

I don’t know who owns this, so if there’s a problem, please contact me and we’ll discuss it.

Respect! Respect! Respect!

One of the most important things you can do in your marriage is to respect your partner. Without respect, you have no relationship. Well, you may have a relationship, but it won’t be a happy one.

Respect is a complicated subject, so we’ll start simple. What does it mean to respect?

Turning to dictionary.com, my usual source for simple definitions, we find:

verb (used with object)
9. to hold in esteem or honor: I cannot respect a cheat.
10. to show regard or consideration for: to respect someone’s rights.
11. to refrain from intruding upon or interfering with: to respect a person’s privacy.

What does it mean, to hold someone in esteem or honor?
More

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 228 other subscribers