Easter Bunny, Really???


Public domain image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

You know, I think most people out of habit say, “Happy Easter”, when it comes to “celebrating” Easter Sunday. I would modify that to say, “Have a reflective Easter.”

I’m probably an odd ball (okay, no probably about it), but I don’t think Easter is meant to be a happy holiday, at least not in the sense “Have a happy Holiday” is normally used.

Easter is a special holiday because of its Christian influence, except today it has become somewhat of a pagan holiday. I mean, we have dyed Easter eggs, the Easter bunny who somehow comes up with all these billions of multi-colored hard-boiled eggs every year, chocolate Easter bunnies, little foil-wrapped chocolate Easter eggs, little yellow spongy duckies, Easter baskets and so forth.

However, what should make us happy, at least we Christians, as this is basically a Christian holiday, is the saving grace our Lord and Savior brought to the world through his experiences in the garden of Gethsemene and upon the cross. That is the real Easter we Christians ought to be celebrating.

I suspect many go to church on Easter Sunday, there to take care of their reflecting for the day. Then they spend the rest of the day involved in pagan rituals. However, there seems to be a trend among many to do their paganizing on Saturday. I think that’s a good trend.

I know, I’m cynical, but then I’ve been an expert cynic since at least the eighth grade. It was then, when the graduating ninth-grade class named me “co-winner” of the dubious school cynic award in the annual yearbook. Heck, I didn’t even know they knew I existed. On top of that, I didn’t know what the word meant. I was really thrilled until I went home and looked up the word. I shared the dubious honor with another eighth-grader with the same initials “CC”, although his initials were CDC and mine are CCC.

So, all cynicism aside, I hope this Easter we will reflect in our Christian lives the true purpose and intent of the holiday. Let us be thankful for Christ’s great gifts and the rest of our blessings.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beverleysmith36
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 09:48:21

    It’s an excuse for eating lots of chocolate – isn’t it. I think my class was doped on chocolate today 🙂

    Reply

    • Cris
      Apr 08, 2012 @ 21:28:47

      Yes, that, and for taking our minds off of the true intent of the “holiday”.

      You see the occasional old movie shown every year, like “The Ten Commandments”, although I don’t know what that has to do with Easter. It was shown here last night (Saturday).

      You might see other movies related to Jesus, although I think that’s becoming less and less. I’m not sure though, as I’m no longer connected up to the television scene. I miss following my KC Royals baseball team, and a few other programs, but not enough to pay nearly $150 a month for it.

      Reply

      • beverleysmith36
        Apr 09, 2012 @ 01:42:02

        I no longer have a TV either partly for the same reason as you and partly because nothing fit my ‘suitable’ criteria.

      • Cris
        Apr 09, 2012 @ 08:00:34

        Well, I do have a TV. I’m just not hooked up to cable or satellite.

        Every once in awhile I’ll watch a movie. I have so many movies on DVD that I haven’t even watched yet.

        But then I have other stuff like Jack Benny TV show (beyond your time), Ernest P. Worrell movies and TV show, Howdy Doody TV show (beyond your time), The Lone Ranger TV Show (beyond your time), The Cisco Kid TV show, and a host of really old western movies and other things.

        I also have a couple of DVDs that I can just sit back and relax while they take me through numerous national parks, flying over them, some really low to the ground, some higher up, all accompanied by nice, relaxing contemporary instrumental music, some would call new age. I don’t view it as new age, though. It has much more to it, but yet it is relaxing.

        Mostly, I pound away at the keyboard. 🙂

  2. Trackback: 5 days of rest | Dreams, photos & travels
  3. Forest Sorley
    May 01, 2012 @ 14:41:21

    I just happened to findcome across your site and the post Easter Bunny, Really??? Odds and End Thoughts. The info you provide kind of makes me think. Thanks for the write up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

