The Strangest Sight I’ve Ever Seen, part 2


This is a public domain image

You might wonder why I chose the Eiffel Tower as the strangest sight I’ve ever seen. Well, the Eiffel Tower isn’t the strangest thing I’ve ever seen because I’ve never been there. But it is the closest thing I could find to represent the strangest sight I’ve ever seen.

One night I was driving north on State Hwy PP in northwest Missouri and saw a blinking white light to the west, too high to be one of the many windmills and cell phone towers that dot the surrounding land. It didn’t move, so I knew it wasn’t an airplane. Anyway, it was blinking white and not red. And I couldn’t imagine what a helicopter would be doing hovering in the middle of the night in the middle of nowhere.

It was a cloudless night and this light had about the same size and intensity as the surrounding stars.

I stopped and watched this phenomenon for several minutes. Then it disappeared, only to reappear after a bit. I kept an eye on it as I was later driving west on State Hwy Z. It seemed to have stayed in the same position the entire time and remained so until I lost it in the surrounding hills.

About five minutes later, I crested another hill and saw an intense, white blinking light low on the horizon. It was brighter by far than anything I had ever seen at night. I could see it off and on for about three to three and a half miles. Then I got too close and it was blocked out by the hills.

I got to the end of my westward journey, five miles from my initial sighting, and decided I’d turn left because I knew there was a nearby hilltop and I figured I might get a closer view of whatever was causing this light show.

Imagine my surprise when I got to the top of the hill and looked westward. I saw this very bright band of light moving up and down in the general shape of the Eiffel Tower, only thinner and with no curves. I could not make out any further details.

The band of light would start at the top and make its way to the bottom in one, smooth, quick flowing motion, then disappear and start all over again at the top. The band of light would expand horizontally as it flowed to the bottom, thus outlining the basic form of the Eiffel-like Tower. The effect from five miles away was that of a blinking light.

It’s kind of hard to explain. I wish I were a digital artist so I could have made an animated gif file.

I don’t remember if I got out of the car or not, but there’s one thing I do remember—I was mesmerized. I watched it for the longest time. I hadn’t a clue what it was. I had never seen anything like it.

To the left and the bottom of this spectacle was a dim, hazy white light, somewhat like a country yard light only not nearly as bright. It highlighted what looked like a typical rural front porch in about the position you’d expect it to be in relation to a yard light, very ethereal-looking. There appeared to be a dim-lit window in conjunction with the porch. It was all too dim to make out any details.

Finally, I had to leave, as I had other things to do, but I couldn’t help thinking about what I had witnessed.

Several months later I was heading east on State Hwy Z. As I was nearing the area of the above incident, I decided to go back to that same hilltop and see what I could see.

Imagine my second surprise when all I saw were rolling hills. No farm. No building of any kind. No yard light. No gigantic Eiffel Tower-like structure with pulsing lights. Just rolling hills and a string of high-tension power lines, going from north and south. Were they much closer, they might have appeared to have been the size of my Eiffel Tower, but they were too far away to have been what I saw.

That was the strangest thing I’ve ever seen. I don’t know if I had somehow glanced into another dimension or saw an Unidentified Landed Object. I guess I’ll never know.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nelson RN
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 03:29:27

    Oh… your post left me thinking!
    I added you to my blogroll, I hope you don’t mind 🙂

    Reply

    • Cris
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 09:29:03

      Thank you for adding me to your blogroll. I hope we can all keep thinking.
      Did you read part 1? It had some strange sightings, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

