The Strangest Sight I’ve Ever Seen, part 1


Photo courtesy of NASA

I’ve never seen a flying saucer hovering over the treeline. I’ve never seen a giant triangular or vee-shaped craft slowly traversing the sky, blacking out the stars. I’ve never seen a star-like object speeding from one horizon to the next in seconds, making instant right- and left-hand turns. Nothing like that.

So, I’ve never really thought of myself as having had any unusual nighttime or any other sightings. Yet, as it turned out, I have seen some strange things over the years.

I’ve never considered myself a UFO chaser, but I do scan the heavens a lot at night. I find the stars fascinating and beautiful, especially, on a clear night, when I can see the hazy cloud of the Milky Way.

I can lie down on the ground (okay, the hood of my car; I hate bugs crawling on me) and gaze for hours at the spectacle—well, I could if I could stay still that long. Could be the ADD.

* * * * *

I drive a lot at night, so I see a lot of stars. Every now and again I see a shooting star, so called.

Speaking of shooting stars, I once heard an astronaut say that some of these streaks of light we see at night just might be, how shall I say it, packets of human waste entering the atmosphere? Imagine—a cosmic toilet!

The strangest shooting stars I’ve ever seen are the ones that come straight down. They all blink out just before they should hit the ground. I keep waiting for the impact as “shooting star” meets ground but have never heard one. They all appear to be about one or two miles away; they seem close. Come to think about it, they look an awful like the ones in the above photograph.

The last one of this ilk I saw had a slight arc to it, the only one I’ve seen like that. The arc was coming down at about an 80-degree angle, if that makes any sense.

One night, I was standing outside facing west when the longest shooting star I’ve ever seen came from behind me and continued on until it almost reached the horizon before it winked out. It lasted maybe four or five seconds. There’s no telling how long it was going before it came to my attention. That was either a large meteorite or a bona fide UFO, likely the former.

* * * * *

Once I got to thinking about it, I remembered as a ten-year-old, I was lying in a full-sized bed with my eight-year-old brother. We were both looking out the back door. Our “bedroom” was actually part of the washroom and we faced the back door by which ran an alley.

Photo courtesy of NASA

What happened next was—an orange ball, about the size of a basketball, went tooling down the alley right past our door, which must have been open. I think it went from left to right. We both saw it. It looked a lot like the accompanying photo of the sun, only without the fiery aura around it.

I called up my brother about thirty years later and asked him if he remembered seeing this ball. To my delight, he said he did. I wasn’t crazy, after all.

I was in high school the next time I saw another similar fiery orange ball. This time I was outside in the yard, when I was supposed to be in bed, looking up in the sky. It came from the north and headed south. It seemed to follow the curvature of the earth.

I never told anyone about seeing these things. It wasn’t for any particular reason. I just accepted it as being normal, I suppose. I was rather naïve and innocent in those days . . . a very long time ago.

* * * * *

One night I was walking around outside my car, taking a breather, facing east. All of a sudden the entire sky lit up as if it were noonday. However, it seemed to emanate from within a certain layer of atmosphere, if that makes sense. It’s hard to explain. Anyway, I immediately turned around, sensing the cause of the anomaly was coming from behind me.

What I saw was a bright, orange ball of light in the shape of a teardrop, complete with fiery tail, come streaking straight down. It didn’t look like the two previous orange balls of light I had seen. This one had more of the appearance of the fiery aura in the accompanying photo of the sun, only more solid-looking.

What made this even more spectacular was the bright green, fiery ball of light that was in the center of this orange teardrop. It seemed two or three miles away. But like the previous downward-aimed shooting stars, it fizzled out before it hit the ground, assuming it did. Again, there was no sound of an impact.

And this wasn’t even the strangest thing I’ve ever seen.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beverleysmith36
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 02:47:54

    I once saw the world go pink. It was as if i was wearing rose coloured spectacles but i wasn’t. I was about 10 at the time and my sister saw it too. But I have seen things that the world wouldn’t be able to explain.

    Reply

  2. Cris
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 10:38:01

    I’m all ears! I listen to Coast to Coast AM on a regular basis (the podcasts, anyway) and have heard most everything on there. It’s just incredible the things I’ve heard. You’re welcome to email me with your interesting-sounding experiences, if you wish. I love hearing about them. My few experiences aren’t so incredible, but they are interesting, at least to me.

    Reply

  3. newpillowbook
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 14:45:35

    Wow, that is …. strange. Do you have any theories about what these fiery balls are? I mean, you’ve seen them several times, and other people have seen them too, so we’re not talking about hallucinations or dreams. So what could they be?

    Reply

    • Cris
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 09:04:53

      Wait until you read part 2, if you think part 1 was weird. 🙂

      As to the white balls falling straight down, vs. arcing across the sky like a meteorite would ordinarily do, I have no idea.

      Ed Grimsley, who views the night sky with 3rd generation night vision goggles, believes there is an alien war going on up in the skies. He is able to see things with the goggles that can’t be seen with the human eye.

      Possibly, if he is correct, the fiery orange ball with the glowing green center falling straight down might have been a casualty of said war. Otherwise, I have no idea there, either.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

