The Worst Disability


Photo courtesy of USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Today I read a comment to a blog I had previously commented on. It read: “I am now a nobody because of my disability is preventing me from working at the moment. I shall be back to read more.”

Sadly, the author of the blog responded in a well-meaning fashion: “Alone you may be nobody, but together we are everything!”

He was correct in the second instance but wrong in the first. Together we ARE everything! We can DO anything! But alone we are not helpless, even with a disability.

There is much we can do because, even alone, and even with a disability, WE ARE ALSO EVERYTHING! WE CAN TRULY DO ANYTHING! But here’s the catch—IF WE WANT TO BAD ENOUGH! AND IF WE TRULY BELIEVE WITH ALL OUR HEARTS!

I felt inspired (hopefully) to respond to the two comments with the following words:

[Naming the name], you’re NEVER a nobody—disability or not.

I know . . . easy for me to say.

Remember, though, Beethoven composed some of his best music after he went deaf.

True, neither you nor I is likely a Beethoven, but the point is: There is much we can do regardless of where we’re at.

I recommend reading (or listening, it’s on CD) to “The God I Love” by Joni (pronounced Johnny, her dad wanted a boy) Eareckson Tada. She’s been a quadriplegic since she was, like, 17, from a diving accident. Here’s a few things she’s done, in the words of Billy Graham:

Joni Eareckson Tada is the founder and president of Joni and Friends, an organization accelerating Christian outreach in the disability community that numbers 550 million people worldwide. She is an artist [using her teeth—Cris] and the author of numerous best-selling books, including Diamonds in the Dust; More Precious Than Silver; the Platinum Award-winning Joni; Heaven, Your Real Home; and When God Weeps. Joni and her husband, Ken, live in Calabasas, California.

She’s in her 60s now, if I remember correctly. Hers is a life that is an example to all of us, not just the disabled. The worst disability we can have is in our minds, for that will limit us whether or not we have a physical disability.

Best wishes.

A physical disability is a horrible thing to have, but as in the case of Joni, what we do in spite of our disability, determines out mettle. We can make ourselves victims, as Joni did, or we can put our trust in God and go forward, as Joni did.

But we must believe, truly believe. Merely wishing won’t do. (See my blog, “Wishes and Fishes”)

The Law of Attraction (LOA) can help in this, but we must energize our sendings-out or they will fall flat. That is one of the failings of the LOA.

Remember, our genetics and accidents can define what our bodies look like, but they cannot define what our souls look like. It is our attitudes that define what our souls look like. Our attitudes and our beliefs.

So, don’t be a nobody . . . because you ARE a SOMEBODY, a very IMPORTANT somebody.

Disabilities do not need to define who or what we are.

The Bible tells us we were created in the very image and likeness of God! That makes us a pretty important SOMEBODY, as far as I’m concerned.

Hopefully, as far as you’re concerned, too.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Alternate Economy
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 20:45:31

    Thank you for this post!

    You are right entirely.

    I SHOULD have said, alone you may FEEL like nobody, but together we are everything!

    Reply

    • Cris
      Jan 20, 2012 @ 22:49:45

      Right you are. Of course, you can still correct that. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by. I’m going to have to keep coming back just to get inspiration. LOL

      Reply

  2. beverleysmith36
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 03:43:02

    Hi, My body has been failing me slowly over the last 10 years but it wasn’t until last March when I slipped down some stairs that my body really started to give up but I am still fighting with the doctors to get them to believe me but I won’t give up on that one. However I am a child of God and I am loved by him no matter what I do. but the world sees things differently and money means power and place in the society and status. I have already left a message on the other blog but I want you to know that I haven’t given up I was having a bad day. I set myself food standards, I know there are things that leave my body sluggish and tired but it’s the thing girls like – chocolate, eaten too much of it this week and not enough of the good food to counteract. If I do too much day I end up in bed the next. I had appointments I couldn’t miss this week two days running that was Tue and wed and I’m still recovering. I was a stranger and you took me in and I am thankful to that, keep writing.

    Reply

    • Cris
      Jan 21, 2012 @ 08:56:19

      Sometimes doctors think they know more than they do. They don’t listen to their patients because they don’t want to hear what they didn’t hear about in med school. All too often, if they didn’t hear it in med school, it doesn’t exist. Try other options, such as naturopathic doctors and/or chiropractors.

      I mentioned energy healing, I think, in my comment in the other place. Besides Matrix Energetics, which isn’t really a healing modality per se, but it can be so, as it has to do with intent and letting go. But there is also Reiki, EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique), Quantum Touch and numerous hands-on energy healing modalities.

      Don’t be strangled by the medical establishment. Remember, they were trained to do basically three things: diagnose, operate and prescribe drugs. In short, they learned the negative side of health. They learned nothing about how to be healthy.

      I have seen and heard statements from doctors, saying that nutrition has nothing to do with health. But I have also heard one honest doctor who said the only thing he learned about nutrition in medical school was the word, nutrition.

      So, widen your options. Get a second, third or fourth opinion, if you can afford it. Doesn’t England have free health care?

      Best wishes and, like I said, lovely girl, hang in there.

      Reply

  3. The Alternate Economy
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 23:05:37

    If I may add to this, I have used energy healing and found it to be far more succesful than “modern” medicine. Check my post “A priviledged life”, to see a better description.

    Basically, I have Crohn’s disease and found that the harsh chemical drugs that I was prescribed did nothing to help get me back to work. It was only when I stopped the drugs completely and switched to accupuncture and herbal medicines that the pain and diarrhea started to dissipate. At my worst, on the chemical drugs, I was going to the bathroom 17 times a day and not even eating anything. I no longer suffer from any symptoms of Crohn’s disease, although it took about 7 years of work.

    I cannot recommend this method of treatment more highly. From my own experience all sorts of pains and aches can be soothed by healing the energetic blockages that are creating them.

    All my love, Tristan

    Reply

    • beverleysmith36
      Jan 22, 2012 @ 03:12:06

      I have diagnosed osteoarthritis can’t really mend that one but they also think I have rheumatoid arthritis because I had a fall and now I just don’t get better in fact I have more and more days when I end up in bed because I’m unable to do anything else and not because I’m lazy. My mother also has both lots of arthritis but she is 81 but after medicines and doctors failed her she went to an herbalist and although she is not symptom free and does sometimes have bad days she’s manages to live her life and take care of herself and dad. I think I need a diagnosis it would help point me in a better direction. I also need to improve my diet, do a little exercise and meditate but I can’t change everything at once so chugging along one thing at a time but thanks for the encouragement and your blog is good.

      Reply

    • Cris
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 09:56:13

      Thanks, Tristan.
      Check out Matrix Energetics at http://www.matrixenergetics.com/

      This goes beyond energy healing. It taps directly into the zero point energy field for not only healings but for just about anything you can imagine.

      For example, in the ME forum I have read of people who have taken their cars back in time, like in NLP, and basically brought them forward in another universe or dimension or something so that the cars looked and acted as though they had just come out of the factory. Sounds incredible, but I have no reason to doubt the integrity of these people.

      Having read Richard Bartlett’s two books (he may have a third by now) on ME, I have no doubt that ME is something really incredible.

      Reply

  4. The Alternate Economy
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 13:10:24

    Wow, cris, that is truly amazing. I will take a look right now. I believe that the mind is our most powerful tool in this universe. Everything starts as an idea first. Everything. If we can imagine it, then I imagine we can do it. It is simply learning how.

    Reply

  5. Geraldine Nolan Spada
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 10:12:48

    Hi,

    I must admit I have a little problem with the EVEN in your phrase “EVEN with a disability”. The way I see it is that the person without a disability does not exist. It’s just that some disabilities are, Perhaps Sometimes, just a little more obvious than others. There are physical and mental disabilites, more or less evident. But there are disabilites that go completely onnoticed, although they are the most pernicious of all. L
    Keep on writing!

    Reply

  6. Geraldine Nolan Spada
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 10:17:21

    P.S. I’m not talking about the mind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

