The Economy of Greed, pt 2


This image is in the public domain

While reading a blog called “An Economy of Greed”, I came across the following statement in part: “In our economy, resources are held privately.”

This was left without explanation. For instance, the blogger didn’t say why it’s a bad idea for resources to be held privately, for that is what is inferred.

So, what are the alternatives for resources to be held, if not privately? Consider these:

  1. All resources are to be held publicly. This means government holds all resources privately, which they are in the process of doing anyway, speaking both nationally and at the state level. So, the resources are still being held privately. The question is: Who is better at holding resources privately—government or its citizenry? Who is better served? And if you don’t think government is private, just try to change things once they have been enacted into law, even though they may be unconstitutional, such as the IRS, FDA, EPA, TSA, the un-Patriot Act, the NDAA, et al. And that doesn’t even begin to address all the secrecy the government is involved in. How private can one get?
  2. All resources are to be held communally. This is de facto government. For instance, the right to hold property communally is administrated (likely) by an elected group of people. And that’s how government starts. That’s how our government started at all levels. Government always increases, it never decreases, not of its own accord, anyway. And again, government is as private as private gets.
  3. No one holds any resources at all. In this case, we’d all likely be fighting over land and other resources, somewhat like what took place in the wild, wild west where the cattle barons wound up with the most resources, later the oil and other barons.


This is the kind of trouble one can get into by just throwing around statements without explanations. Even my own little diatribe fits into that category—not fully explained, all arguable.

The second part of the initial blog statement is: “In our economy, . . . wealth is coveted in order to advance one’s personal standing in the community.”

This is a gross oversimplification. It’s never wise to lump everything together like that, especially without explanation, as we’ve seen.

For instance, not everyone who desires wealth desires it “in order to advance one’s personal standing in the community.” Many likely do, but I don’t think most who desire wealth fall into that category. However, I could be wrong.

Be that as it may, I desire wealth, but not for the above-stated purpose. I align myself to no particular community or even neighborhood. I live in the country and like it that way.

What would I do if I were wealthy?

  1. Buy my own acreage in the country.
  2. Build an underground house, wells, alternative energy sources, et al.
  3. Buy the necessary equipment, fittings, fixture, gear, outfit, paraphernalia, trappings in order to put together a self-sufficient organic farm.
  4. Create a foundation to help people in various ways, the details I haven’t yet worked out.

I think most people would like to have enough money just to get by, let alone be wealthy, especially in this economy. Yet, if people really thought about it, they’d probably desire more than mere subsistence, even wealth. That’s why lotteries are so plentiful and successful.

In Missouri, you can hardly go into a gas station without being bombarded with all sorts of legal gambling, most of it benefiting the state.

What are people’s motives for participating in these legal games of chance?

It could be greed, but then it could be other things as well. We can’t judge others by putting our own emotionally charged idealisms onto them, no matter how well-intentioned those idealisms are.

And that’s the mistake so many well-meaning so-called activists make, in my opinion.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Alternate Economy
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 19:16:27

    Thank you for reading the first post in a series of 16 and telling me that the post is incomplete and without proper explanation. Perhaps if you had continued with the series of posts, as it recommends on the blog, you would find all of the answers to the questions you just raised. I will have to let you read them first. Once you are done, let me know if you still have questions about my well-meaning so-called activist blog.

    PS: the blog is not called “An Economy of Greed”; the post was. The blog is called “The Alternate Economy” and contains over 50 posts all related to the questions you have raised.

    PPS: My blog makes it quite clear that I am not interested in focusing on the problems but much more interested in talking about the solutions. Hence this post being so short in nature. You will find ALL of the other posts have positive names and are much longer and better described.

    Reply

    • Cris
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 19:43:19

      You got me there on a technicality. I’m new to blogging and I constantly mix the blog with the post. I’m used to hearing people say, “Old Joe’s latest blog,” and that sort of thing.

      I was only commenting on a post as I saw it and not attacking you personally. So, please, withhold your anger and sarcasm.

      I’m not able to wait until I read 50 posts before I make a comment. I’m just not built that way. Besides, I could never remember anything that long. So I comment when something is fresh on my mind. That’s just the way it is.

      And I’m not adverse to approving messages that aren’t all warm and fuzzy, which is why I approved your honest appraisal of my post. However, I noticed you didn’t approve my comment on your post, which is okay. That’s your privilege. At least, I couldn’t find it when I did a search for my name. Warm and fuzzy is good, but then, so is honest appraisal.

      I have bookmarked your blog and will come back to it from time to time as I have time. And, as I said, I did agree with most of what you said. I could have said a lot more. Well, if not a lot more, at least some more.

      Peace, brother, we’re on the same side, I believe.

      Reply

  2. The Alternate Economy
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 11:06:08

    Sorry, I was out of town last night and just got your comment today. It is approved as is every comment I have every received (excluding spam).

    i’m sorry if I seemed sarcastic, but your questions have all been thouroughly answered on my blog, and very quickly after that first post. The one you commented on is the very first post on that site (as far as order to read goes, I have re-posted etc.)

    I was a little impatient because this post is meant to set the stage for the rest of the blog, not answer all your questions. The rest of the blog answers all the questions.

    Reply

    • Cris
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 23:08:01

      No problem. Like I said, I comment on what is before my eyes. Otherwise, it’s out of sight, out of mind, one of the curses of ADD.

      Reply

  3. The Alternate Economy
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 11:26:10

    So, now for the fun part…

    Why do I feel greed to be the most unbalanced emotion on Earth today? It will be very hard for me to explain this in one comment, but I will try. (there are 50 posts because this is such a HUGE topic…)

    “In our economy, resources are held privately.” You then ask what I mean by this. I am not refering to our governments. They hold very few resources. I am refering to corporate greed, here. I am refering to oil, steel, lumber and cement production. Can you currently access oil without getting permission from its owner? Or Steel. If you needed some steel, could you find it without taking it from someone who owns it?

    Of course not. Everything is owned in our society. Ownership is the idea of “it’s mine”. When something is mine no one else can have it unless I say so. It sounds like something a small child would say, but this is the system our entire society runs under.

    Also known as the economy. The economy is a set of rules that governs trade of things between their owners. It is an economy of Greed because it is all about ownership and ownership is the definition of greed. It’s mine: Greed.

    An economy of generosity is what I am proposing. In this economy resources are held publicly with the understanding that everybody owns them. Equally. So now, if you need some steel, you walk over to the steel foundry and ask for some and they say “Sure, how much do you need?”

    So, if resources are not held privately who holds them? The government? There is no government in my system. A government is the most redundant and superficial institution in existence. It does litrerally nothing. Except of course moderate and get in the way and waste our money. Resources should not be held by the government. They should not be held. Resources will be divided into shares equal to the number of community members and 1 share will be given to hold in perpetuity to each community member.

    There is Sooooo much more on my blog and it is much better expalined. If you are interested in actually knowing what I am talking about, I recommend taking the time to read the whole blog. I know it is a commitment, but changing the world will never happen if people can’t even be bothered to finish reading one blog…

    Reply

    • Cris
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 23:12:06

      It sounds like a nice utopian society you are proposing, and I shall eventually get around to reading it all. And . . . if I have any comments on anything I am reading, I shall do so, one piece at at time. 🙂 That’s just how I do business.

      So, if each of your succeeding posts are not stand-alone and are dependent upon what follows, and I have comments to make, well, you’ll have to excuse me, based on the reasons already stated.

      Peace, brother.

      Reply

  4. Cris
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 08:18:04

    No problem. It’s all new to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

