The Best Way to Travel


This is a NASA photograph

I’ve always liked the old Moody Blues song, “The Best Way to Travel.” Listen while I sing along:

The Best Way to Travel
by Mike Pinder

And you can fly
High as a kite if you want to
Faster than light if you want to
Speeding through the universe
Thinking is the best way to travel

It’s all a dream
Light passing by on the screen
And there’s you and I on the beam
Speeding through the universe
Thinking is the best way to travel

We ride the waves
Distance is gone, will we find out?
How life began, will be find out?
Speeding through the universe
Thinking is the best way to travel

Of course, thinking is the best way to travel . . . and the fastest.

Just ask those who flit about the universe while in their “astral bodies.” Or ask those who regularly jaunt about in their out-of-body experiences (OBEs or OOBEs, for short).

I have never experienced these kinds of things, but I have dreamed some weird dreams wherein I most assuredly was in some other universe or dimension. And I’m not one who believes, as some do, that every dream is trying to tell us something about ourselves that needs to be fixed, although I do not deny that such dreams exist.

I have traveled to places I’ve never been (or seen in photographs) in my waking life. I have met and interacted with people I’ve never met in this life. I have been married to women I have no idea who they were. One wife said, “It’s been along time since you’ve been around.”

Whoa!

Those are the times I wish I could think my way to . . . say, Mars, where all men are free. After all, men are from Mars!

Aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 172 other followers

